Daisy Award

The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses is part of the DAISY Foundation’s program to recognize the super-human efforts nurses perform everyday.

The not-for-profit DAISY Foundation is based in Glen Ellen, CA, and was established by family members in memory of J. Patrick Barnes. Patrick died at the age of 33 in 1999 from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP). The care Patrick and his family received from nurses while he was ill inspired this means of thanking nurses for making a difference in the lives of their patients and patient families.

Every quarter, a nurse will be selected by Wilson Health's nursing administration to receive The DAISY Award. At a presentation given in front of the nurse’s colleagues, physicians, patients, and visitors, the honoree will receive a certificate commending her or him for being an "Extraordinary Nurse" as well as a beautiful sculpture called A Healer’s Touch.

The kind of work the nurses at Wilson Health are called on to do every day epitomizes the purpose of The DAISY Award. You can nominate a DAISY Award recipient by filling out a form posted outside the Wilson Cafe or Download Nomination Form or complete the Online Nomination Form.

For more information, visit www.daisyfoundation.org

Past Wilson Health DAISY Award recipients
Doug Henschen, Emergency Department
Linda Barhorst, Education Department
Natalie Hollenbacher, Family Birth Center
Elisa Strasser, CCU
Emergency Department

Marge Baumer, Acute Care
Jeff Emrick, Same Day Surgery
Anita Bornhorst, Same Day Surgery
Julie Bertke, Same Day Surgery
Hope Wickersham, CCU
Barb Paulus, Acute Care
Misty Wooddell, Birth Center
Nathan Langenstaff, Emergency Department
Krista Bertke, Birth Center
Mary Bohman, Emergency Department
Mandy Inskeep, Cath Lab
Tasha Langenkamp, CCU
Deb Anderson, Case Management
Josh Usserman, CCU

Kristin Garrett, Same Day Surgery