Dooley Elected to OHA Board of Trustees

The Ohio Hospital Association, representing 220 hospitals and 13 health systems in Ohio, elected new officers and appointed new trustees to its board of trustees for 2016.

Beginning Jan. 1, Cynthia Moore-Hardy, FACHE, president and CEO, Lake Health (Concord), will serve as board chair. Kevin Webb, PhD, chief acute care officer, ProMedica (Toledo) will serve as chair-elect. Mike Louge, executive vice president and COO, OhioHealth (Columbus), will serve as secretary/treasurer. Immediate past chair is Chip Hubbs, president and CEO of Memorial Health (Marysville). Each Board officer serves a one-year term.

"As the first state hospital association in the country, we have served members proudly in advocacy, patient safety and quality, and economic sustainability," said Mike Abrams, OHA president and CEO. "OHA begins a new century building on our mission to collaborate with member hospitals and health systems to ensure a healthy Ohio. The leadership and dedication of our board officers and trustees will be instrumental in helping us develop a collaborative strategy to fulfill our mission."

Moore-Hardy joined Lake Health in 1988 and was appointed president and CEO in 1997. She previously served as the system's executive vice president and chief operating officer. She is a Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives and is a member of the American Hospital Association. She has been recognized by: Modern Healthcare's Top 25 Minority Executives in Healthcare; American College of Healthcare Executives Regent's Award; Visiting Nurses Association’s Distinguished Woman in Healthcare; Inside Business Power 100 list; Crain's Cleveland Business Woman of Note; Leadership Lake County Leader of the Year; Cleveland State University's Outstanding Alumnus of the Nance School of Business; Crain’s Cleveland Business Healthcare Heroes Administrator of the Year; Inside Business 100 Most Influential CEO’s, Politicians and Civic Leaders; the YWCA of Greater Cleveland’s Woman of Achievement Award and the United Way of Lake County Outstanding Woman Leader of the Year.

Moore-Hardy earned her bachelor’s degree in nursing from The Ohio State University and a master's degree in business administration from Cleveland State University. Moore-Hardy served a term on the OHA Board as a trustee-at-large from 2001 to 2003. She returned to the Board in 2012 and has served as chair of the governance committee and nominating committee.

"Ohio hospitals are vital community resources providing valuable health and population care services while stimulating local and state economies through jobs and purchases," said Moore-Hardy. "I truly appreciate the opportunity to lead OHA’s Board to develop appropriate collaborative strategies that build a healthy Ohio."

Mark Dooley, president and CEO, Wilson Health is the newest member elected to join the Board for a three-year term as a trustee-at-large. Dooley joined Wilson Health in June 2014. He previously served as president and CEO of Clinton Memorial Hospital in Wilmington, Ohio. Dooley has 20 years of health care experience with strengths in strategic leadership, business development and physician recruitment. In his short time at Wilson Health he has been successful in improving patient and physician satisfaction score percentages and introducing process improvement management in key hospital departments. Under his leadership, Wilson Health is expanding their main campus to include a new 48,000 square foot medical office building to improve patient access. Other notable career accomplishments include implementing new services in geriatric psychiatry, cardiac catheterization services, pain management, vascular testing, surgery and ENT. He has a bachelor’s of science degree as well as his MBA from Indiana State University.

The 2016 OHA board of trustees include:

 Scott Cantley, president and CEO, Marietta Memorial Hospital and Memorial Health System (Marietta)

 Ray Chorey, president and CEO, Southeastern Ohio Regional Medical Center (Cambridge)

 Tim Colburn, president and CEO, Berger Health (Circleville)

 Mark Dooley, president and CEO, Wilson Health (Sidney)

 Steve Glass, chief financial officer, Cleveland Clinic Foundation (Cleveland)

 Mandy Goble, president and CEO, Mary Rutan Hospital (Bellefontaine)

 Mike Keating, president and CEO, The Christ Hospital Health Network (Cincinnati)

 Rick Lofgren, MD, president and CEO, UC Health (Cincinnati)

 Tom Malone, MD, president and CEO, Summa Health System (Akron)

 Fred Manchur, president and CEO, Kettering Health Network (Dayton)

 Ed Roth, president and CEO, Aultman Health Foundation (Canton)

 Brian Smith, executive vice president of operations, Mercy Health (Lima)

 Mike Szubski, senior vice president and CFO, University Hospitals (Cleveland)

 Bruce White, CEO, Knox Community Hospital (Mount Vernon)

OHA’s President and CEO Mike Abrams serves as an ex-officio trustee.

All 2016 Board terms begin Jan. 1. The OHA Board of Trustees sets policy and strategic direction for matters affecting hospitals throughout Ohio. The board includes representatives from small and large hospitals, teaching facilities, and health care systems and consists of four officers, the OHA president, and 14 trustees-at-large.